top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew C. Burke

Back at it

As life so often does, things got busy for me and I set down the carving knife. In 2016 I bought the land surveying company, Riverside Survey, LLC, that I had worked for the previous 11 years. The first carving that I ever created was crudely whittled by my 10-year-old self in the upstairs of the building that houses the survey office. As part of the remodel I commissioned my good friend, client and fly fishing artist, A. L. Poland, to paint his interpretation of this beautiful spot on the Crooked River. As our creative minds went to work, the project evolved to include a carved fish emerging from the canvas. On Christmas Eve I dove in and 24 hours later a piece of basswood was now a salmon ready for paint. I have to say it felt good to dust off the knives and chisels that had laid untouched for 9 years.

A fire that had been reduced to mere coals was re-lit and I immediately started working on a piece that had been laying dormant. One piece led to the next and though there have been lulls, the plan is to never let those tools collect dust again.





51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page